TL;DR
Get cleaning gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Do it Best Group received the 2026 Mark Michael and NEI Innovative Company of the Year Award for technology initiatives aimed at independent hardware retailers. The initiatives include an AI assistant, expanded sales analytics and mobile apps, one of which is scheduled for early 2027.
Do it Best Group has received the 2026 Mark Michael and NEI Innovative Company of the Year Award from the Northeast Indiana Innovation Community, recognizing the Fort Wayne-based company’s technology initiatives for independent hardware retailers. The award was presented through the organization’s annual Innovation@Work awards.
The company was recognized for work involving artificial intelligence tools, retail data analysis and mobile applications. One project, HardwareIQ, is an AI-powered tool developed internally to help store associates find product and project information. Do it Best Group previewed it at the company’s Fall Market in Indianapolis.
Do it Best Group has also expanded Retail Pulse, a platform that gives members with compatible point-of-sale systems information about store performance. New capabilities introduced at the Fall Market include SKU-level analysis of pricing, product assortments, margins and inventory productivity.
The company is developing a loyalty and e-commerce mobile app, which it says is scheduled for early 2027. Planned functions include product searches, real-time inventory availability, rewards, purchase histories, fulfillment options and mobile payments. A separate Best Rewards app is intended to offer similar capabilities to independently branded stores.
Technology Aimed at Independent Retailers
The award highlights a technology push by a supplier-owned group whose members operate independent hardware stores. Tools for finding product information, reviewing store performance and managing digital sales could support retailers’ day-to-day decisions and customer service. The reported award recognizes the company’s innovation efforts; it does not establish how much the tools have improved sales or store performance.
The distinction matters because the initiatives are being developed for stores with different brands and existing systems. Retail Pulse is available to members with compatible point-of-sale systems, while the planned apps are described as serving both Do it Best and True Value members and independently branded stores. The extent of adoption and the results for retailers have not yet been reported.
Products Worth Considering

eufy Security Essential 7-Piece Alarm System

Ring Alarm 5-Piece Wireless Security System

Levoit Eleva 300X Air Purifier with Sealed HEPA Filtration
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Projects Presented at Fall Market
The Northeast Indiana Innovation Community’s annual Innovation@Work awards recognize companies using innovation to support business growth in northeast Indiana, according to the report by Hardware Retailing. Do it Best Group is based in Fort Wayne, Indiana.
At the 2026 Fall Market in Indianapolis, the company both previewed HardwareIQ and presented new Retail Pulse capabilities. It also introduced an Innovation Hub, where members could see technology demonstrations and talk with company representatives about implementation. The company says its technology efforts are intended to improve member retailers’ operations while preserving local ownership and store identities.
“Technology creates value when it helps a member serve a customer, make a better decision or capture a sale.”
— Ken Widner, chief information officer at Do it Best Group
Adoption and Results Not Yet Reported
The report does not specify how many retailers currently use HardwareIQ or the expanded Retail Pulse features, or provide measured effects on sales, margins, inventory management or customer service. It also does not give a launch date more specific than early 2027 for the loyalty and e-commerce app.
Further details about the app’s rollout, availability across member stores and technical requirements have not been reported. The award announcement also does not disclose the selection criteria or name other award recipients.
Mobile App Plans for 2027
The next stated milestone is the planned launch of Do it Best Group’s loyalty and e-commerce app in early 2027. The company has outlined intended features but has not announced a specific release date or provided further rollout details in the report.
Retailers and readers can look for more information about app availability, the Best Rewards app and member adoption of HardwareIQ and Retail Pulse as the company shares updates. The report does not identify a date for those updates.
Key Questions
What award did Do it Best Group receive?
It received the 2026 Mark Michael and NEI Innovative Company of the Year Award from the Northeast Indiana Innovation Community through its annual Innovation@Work awards.Why was the company recognized?
The award recognized technology initiatives for independent hardware retailers, including AI tools, retail data analysis and mobile applications.What is HardwareIQ?
HardwareIQ is an internally developed, AI-powered tool designed to help store associates access product and project information. Do it Best Group previewed it at its 2026 Fall Market.When is the new loyalty and e-commerce app expected?
The company says the app is scheduled for early 2027. A specific release date and detailed rollout plan have not been reported.Have the technology initiatives produced measured results?
The report describes the tools and their intended uses but provides no measured performance results or figures on retailer adoption.Source: hardwareretailing.com
