Choosing among these Mac Studio configurations comes down to how much processing headroom, memory, and built-in storage your work needs. I’d start with the M5 Max for current-generation AI, 3D, and display-heavy workflows; the M4 Max with 128GB memory and a 2TB SSD offers a substantial workstation setup for demanding projects; and the renewed M1 Max with 1TB is the more practical legacy option when capacity matters more than newer connectivity. The tradeoff is clear: newer chips and larger memory pools suit heavier workloads, while the older renewed systems have less storage and come with condition and accessory uncertainty.
Get cleaning gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
These are not four interchangeable desktop bundles. The two renewed M1 Max listings share a chip and memory capacity, but differ in SSD space; the M4 Max and M5 Max move into higher-performance territory, with the M5 listing adding newer connectivity and wireless features. I rank them by how well each configuration matches a distinct buyer, while weighing the age and renewal status of the older models against the capabilities described for the newer ones.
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- The M5 Max is the strongest fit here for AI work, 3D rendering, and setups using several external displays, with Thunderbolt 5 and support for up to five displays.
- The M4 Max configuration pairs a 16-core CPU and 40-core GPU with 128GB unified memory and a 2TB SSD, making it the most fully specified workstation option in this group.
- The renewed M1 Max with a 1TB SSD is preferable to the 512GB version when project files and applications need more internal space; both list 32GB memory.
- The 2022 M1 Max models have a meaningful age and renewal tradeoff: they are inspected renewed units, accessories may not be original, and neither is Apple certified.
- Choose memory and storage for the work you expect to keep on the machine, because these configurations are presented as fixed bundles and later internal upgrades are not described.
| Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop Computer with M5 Max Chip | ![]() | Best Overall | Chip: Apple M5 Max | Maximum unified memory: Up to 128GB | Memory bandwidth: Up to 614GB/s | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Apple Mac Studio with M4 Max, 16-Core CPU, 40-Core GPU, 128GB Unified Memory, 2TB SSD | ![]() | Best Premium Workstation Configuration | Chip: Apple M4 Max | CPU: 16-core | GPU: 40-core | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Apple Mac Studio (2022) with M1 Max, 10-Core CPU, 24-Core GPU, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD, Silver (Renewed) | ![]() | Best Renewed M1 Max for More Storage | Model year: 2022 | Processor: Apple M1 Max, 10-core CPU | Graphics: 24-core GPU | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Apple Mac Studio (2022) with M1 Max, 32GB RAM, 512GB SSD (Renewed) | ![]() | Best Compact Entry to Mac Studio | Model year: 2022 | Processor: Apple M1 Max, 10-core CPU | Memory: 32GB | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| mac studio configuration | Storage | Chip | Model year | Processor |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop | — | Apple M5 Max | — | — |
| Apple Mac Studio with M4 Max | 2TB SSD | Apple M4 Max | — | — |
| Apple Mac Studio | 1TB SSD | — | 2022 | Apple M1 Max, 10-core CPU |
| Apple Mac Studio | 512GB SSD | — | 2022 | Apple M1 Max, 10-core CPU |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop Computer with M5 Max Chip
This is the most forward-looking configuration in the group. The M5 Max, up to 128GB unified memory, and stated bandwidth of up to 614GB/s target workloads that can use substantial parallel processing, including AI tasks, 3D rendering, and heavy creative work. Four Thunderbolt 5 ports, Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6, and support for up to five external displays also make it the most explicitly connected option here.
Compared with the M4 Max, this listing emphasizes a newer chip generation, display support, and wireless standards, while the M4 listing specifies its 16-core CPU, 40-core GPU, and 2TB SSD more clearly. The M5 listing does not state a bundled memory or storage capacity, only maximum memory and faster-storage claims, so I would verify the exact configuration before ordering. Its memory and storage are not user-upgradeable after purchase, and the described upgrade choices can make it a costly system to configure generously. This is my top pick for buyers who will use the added capabilities, rather than simply wanting a compact Mac desktop.
Pros:- M5 Max platform is described for AI, 3D, and heavy creative workflows
- Supports up to 128GB unified memory with up to 614GB/s bandwidth
- Four Thunderbolt 5 ports and support for up to five external displays
- Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 6 are specified
Cons:- The listing does not state the included memory or SSD capacity
- Memory and storage cannot be upgraded by the user after purchase
- A well-equipped configuration may require a substantial commitment
Best for: Creative and technical professionals who need a current-generation Mac Studio for AI, 3D, demanding media work, or a multi-display desk.
Not ideal for: Buyers with modest workloads, those who need a confirmed included SSD or memory capacity before deciding, or anyone prioritizing upgrade flexibility.
- Chip:Apple M5 Max
- Maximum unified memory:Up to 128GB
- Memory bandwidth:Up to 614GB/s
- Thunderbolt:Four Thunderbolt 5 ports
- Other ports:Two USB-C, two USB-A, HDMI, SDXC card slot, headphone jack
- External displays:Up to five
- Wireless:Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 6
- Dimensions:7.76 x 7.76 x 3.74 inches
Our verdict“I rank the M5 Max first for buyers who need its newer processing platform and broad display connectivity and can confirm the exact memory and storage bundle.”
Apple Mac Studio with M4 Max, 16-Core CPU, 40-Core GPU, 128GB Unified Memory, 2TB SSD
The M4 Max configuration is the most fully specified high-capacity workstation in this comparison. Its 16-core CPU and 40-core GPU are paired with 128GB unified memory and a 2TB SSD, giving buyers a concrete bundle for projects that need both a large memory pool and internal working space. The compact 7.7-inch-square enclosure is a useful fit where a tower would take up more room.
Against the M5 Max, this option has a stated 2TB SSD and memory capacity, so its actual configuration is easier to assess from the supplied details. The M5 Max, by comparison, lists Thunderbolt 5, Wi-Fi 7, and support for up to five displays; those details are not provided for the M4 Max here. The M4’s large memory and storage may be excessive for everyday office tasks, and the description does not specify port counts, display limits, or upgradeability. I’d put this ahead of the renewed M1 Max choices for sustained professional work, but buyers should confirm the connectivity and system details they rely on.
Pros:- 16-core CPU and 40-core GPU are specified
- 128GB unified memory gives demanding projects substantial capacity
- 2TB SSD provides more built-in space than either renewed M1 Max option
- Compact 7.7-inch-square enclosure
Cons:- The configuration may exceed the needs of everyday desktop work
- Port counts, wireless features, and maximum display support are not listed
- The description does not say whether memory or storage can be upgraded
Best for: Video, design, software, or computational professionals whose projects benefit from 128GB unified memory, a 40-core GPU, and 2TB of internal storage.
Not ideal for: General-purpose desktop buyers who will not use the large memory pool, or anyone who needs confirmed port and wireless specifications before choosing.
- Chip:Apple M4 Max
- CPU:16-core
- GPU:40-core
- Unified memory:128GB
- Storage:2TB SSD
- Connectivity:Thunderbolt 5
- Enclosure:7.7-inch square
Our verdict“I recommend the M4 Max to professionals who want a clearly specified, high-capacity workstation bundle and do not need the newer connectivity details listed for the M5 Max.”
Apple Mac Studio (2022) with M1 Max, 10-Core CPU, 24-Core GPU, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD, Silver (Renewed)
Among the two renewed M1 Max listings, this is the easier one to live with if you keep active work on the internal drive. It combines a 10-core CPU and 24-core GPU with 32GB memory, like the 512GB alternative, but doubles the listed SSD capacity to 1TB. That extra room can reduce the need to move projects and applications onto external storage as quickly.
It still belongs to a different class from the M4 Max and M5 Max systems above: those newer options list 128GB memory, and the M4 Max also includes a 2TB SSD. The renewed M1 Max can make sense for established workflows that do not need those stated capacities, but age and condition deserve attention. The seller describes inspection, testing, and cleaning, with replacement or refund eligibility within 90 days; the Mac is not Apple certified, and accessories may be compatible replacements. The stated macOS High Sierra entry is unusual for this model, so I’d ask the seller to confirm the operating system and actual configuration before buying.
Pros:- M1 Max with a 10-core CPU and 24-core GPU
- 32GB memory for substantial multitasking
- 1TB SSD offers twice the listed capacity of the other renewed M1 Max
- Inspected, tested, and cleaned, with 90-day replacement or refund eligibility
Cons:- Renewed and not Apple certified
- Accessories may be compatible replacements rather than original Apple items
- The listed macOS High Sierra detail should be verified with the seller
Best for: A buyer seeking a renewed M1 Max with 32GB memory who wants more internal storage than the 512GB version provides.
Not ideal for: Professionals whose projects need 128GB memory, buyers wanting a new unit or original accessories, or anyone unwilling to verify the unusual operating-system listing.
- Model year:2022
- Processor:Apple M1 Max, 10-core CPU
- Graphics:24-core GPU
- Memory:32GB
- Storage:1TB SSD
- Color:Silver
- Condition:Renewed; inspected, tested, and cleaned
- Return eligibility:Replacement or refund within 90 days of receipt
Our verdict“I’d choose this renewed M1 Max over the 512GB model when internal storage matters, while treating seller confirmation and renewed condition as part of the decision.”
Apple Mac Studio (2022) with M1 Max, 32GB RAM, 512GB SSD (Renewed)
This is the most limited-capacity configuration here, but it retains the same broad M1 Max and 32GB-memory foundation as the 1TB renewed listing. Its 512GB SSD is the key distinction: it may suit a desk setup where most large media or project files already live on external drives, though applications and current work will share a smaller internal pool. The stated professional inspection, testing, and cleaning offer some condition information, and the unit is eligible for replacement or refund within 90 days of receipt.
Compared directly with the other renewed M1 Max, this model gives up half the listed internal storage without a stated change in chip or memory. I’d choose the 1TB version if internal space is a priority. Both are far below the M4 Max and M5 Max configurations in stated memory capacity and generation, so this is best viewed as a narrower fit for buyers whose existing workflow suits the older platform. As with the other renewed model, it is not Apple certified, accessories may not be original, and the macOS High Sierra listing should be confirmed before purchase.
Pros:- M1 Max with a 10-core CPU
- 32GB memory
- 512GB SSD for a configuration centered on external storage
- Professionally inspected, tested, and cleaned
Cons:- The smallest SSD capacity in this roundup
- Renewed, not Apple certified, and may include non-original accessories
- The listed macOS High Sierra detail should be verified
Best for: A buyer who wants the Mac Studio form factor and M1 Max with 32GB memory, already relies on external storage, and is comfortable with a renewed unit.
Not ideal for: Anyone keeping large project libraries locally, needing a newer chip generation or a stated high-capacity memory configuration, or expecting original accessories.
- Model year:2022
- Processor:Apple M1 Max, 10-core CPU
- Memory:32GB
- Storage:512GB SSD
- Operating system:Listed as macOS High Sierra; verify with seller
- Condition:Renewed; professionally inspected, tested, and cleaned
- Accessories:Compatible accessories may be non-original
- Return eligibility:Replacement or refund within 90 days of receipt
Our verdict“I’d consider this renewed M1 Max only when 512GB internal storage fits an existing external-drive workflow and the lower capacity is an intentional choice.”

How We Picked
I compared these four listings as configurations for Mac Studio buyers, rather than treating the product name alone as the deciding factor. My ranking gives weight to the chip generation and stated CPU and GPU resources, then to unified memory and SSD capacity, since those shape how comfortably a desktop can handle demanding projects and large working files.
I also considered how useful each configuration is for a particular buyer. The M5 Max earns the leading position for the newest listed platform and broad connectivity; the M4 Max follows as a clearly specified high-capacity professional desktop. For the renewed M1 Max machines, I distinguish the 1TB model from the 512GB model by practical storage headroom, while accounting for their renewed status, potentially non-original accessories, and 90-day replacement or refund eligibility. I do not infer performance benchmarks or feature details that the listings do not provide.
Some supplied details deserve caution. Both M1 Max listings identify macOS High Sierra, which is an unusual operating-system entry for a Mac Studio and should be verified with the seller before purchase. The M5 Max listing describes a 2026 model and capabilities, while the M4 Max listing provides fewer port and wireless details. I judge only what is stated, so missing specifications do not count as confirmed features.
| mac studio configuration | Chip | Condition |
|---|---|---|
| Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop | Apple M5 Max | — |
| Apple Mac Studio with M4 Max | Apple M4 Max | — |
| Apple Mac Studio | — | Renewed; inspected, tested, and cleaned |
| Apple Mac Studio | — | Renewed; professionally inspected, tested, and cleaned |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Mac Studio Configurations
I’d narrow a Mac Studio decision by matching the configuration to the work that will stay on the desktop. Chip generation matters, but so do memory and SSD capacity: a powerful processor cannot make a small internal drive feel roomy, and excess memory is difficult to justify if projects rarely use it.
Choose chip generation for the work
The M5 Max is the most capable platform described in this group, with AI, 3D, heavy creative workflows, and multi-display support highlighted in its listing. The M4 Max has a specified 16-core CPU and 40-core GPU, making it a strong option when you want a detailed high-capacity configuration. The 2022 M1 Max models are older renewed systems; they may still fit established workflows, but they do not offer the listed memory capacity of the M4 and M5 choices. I would pay for a newer generation when the workload can use it, rather than treating the newest chip as an automatic need.
Set memory around project size
The renewed M1 Max listings include 32GB memory, while the M4 Max configuration lists 128GB and the M5 Max supports up to 128GB. Larger memory pools can help with demanding projects that keep many assets or tasks active at once. For everyday productivity or lighter creative work, 128GB may be more capacity than the workflow calls for. The M5 listing gives a maximum, not a confirmed included amount, so check the exact bundle before deciding.
Treat SSD capacity as part of the configuration
In this comparison, the listed SSDs range from 512GB on the most limited renewed M1 Max to 1TB on its counterpart and 2TB on the M4 Max. More internal space gives applications and active projects room to coexist without leaning as heavily on external drives. If your archive is already stored elsewhere, 512GB may fit; if you work with large media libraries, the 1TB or 2TB options offer more breathing room. The M5 Max description does not state an included SSD size, so confirm it before purchase.
Compare ports and desk setup
The M5 Max has the clearest connectivity details: four Thunderbolt 5 ports, HDMI, an SDXC slot, USB-A and USB-C ports, and support for up to five displays. The M4 Max listing confirms Thunderbolt 5 but does not give a full port count or display limit. The M1 Max descriptions here provide little connectivity detail. If your workflow depends on multiple monitors, fast external storage, or card readers, check the exact port layout for the configuration you choose instead of assuming every listing describes the same setup.
Check renewed listings before committing
Both M1 Max choices are renewed rather than Apple certified. Their listings describe inspection, testing, and cleaning, and state replacement or refund eligibility within 90 days; they also warn that accessories may not be original. The operating system is listed as macOS High Sierra, an unusual detail to verify with the seller. I would confirm the actual operating system, included accessories, and stated hardware configuration so the delivered system matches the work you plan to do.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which Mac Studio configuration is best for most demanding professional work?
I’d choose between the M5 Max and M4 Max based on how much detail you need confirmed before ordering. The M5 Max is described with newer AI and 3D capabilities, Thunderbolt 5, and support for up to five displays. The M4 Max listing specifies a 16-core CPU, 40-core GPU, 128GB memory, and 2TB SSD. If a defined memory and storage bundle is the priority, the M4 Max description is clearer; if the newer connectivity and platform matter more, look closely at the M5 Max’s exact included configuration.
Is the M1 Max with 1TB a better choice than the 512GB version?
For buyers who keep applications and active projects on the internal drive, the 1TB renewed model is the more flexible of the two. Both listings specify an M1 Max and 32GB memory, while the 512GB version has half the stated SSD space. If you already store large files externally and want a smaller internal drive, 512GB could still fit. The renewed condition and seller details apply to both.
How much unified memory should I choose?
Start with the size and number of projects you expect to keep active at once. The renewed M1 Max choices list 32GB, while the M4 Max lists 128GB and the M5 Max supports up to 128GB. Large creative, computational, and AI workloads may benefit from more memory, but a maximum supported figure does not confirm the amount in a particular M5 bundle. Confirm the included capacity against your workload before purchasing.
What should I verify when buying a renewed Mac Studio?
Check that the chip, memory, SSD capacity, and operating system match the listing, and ask which accessories are included. These M1 Max products are described as inspected, tested, and cleaned, but not Apple certified; compatible accessories may be non-original, and replacement or refund eligibility is stated as 90 days after receipt. The listed macOS High Sierra detail is unusual for a Mac Studio, so I would confirm it directly with the seller.
Can I upgrade the memory or internal storage later?
The M5 Max description says its memory and storage are not user-upgradeable after purchase. The supplied M4 Max and M1 Max details do not confirm upgrade options, so I would choose a configuration with enough capacity for the intended workload instead of counting on an internal upgrade. External storage can expand file capacity, but it does not change the stated built-in memory or SSD bundle.
Conclusion
For AI, 3D, or multi-display work, I’d start with the M5 Max and verify its included memory and storage. For a specified workstation bundle with 128GB memory and a 2TB SSD, the M4 Max is the clearest fit. Among renewed options, choose the 1TB M1 Max if internal space matters; the 512GB model makes sense when external storage is already central to your setup. Buyers choosing either M1 Max should confirm the unusual operating-system entry and included accessories before placing an order.







